LibGuides: BUS 403: Strategic Management: Research Sources

Getting Information on a Publicly Traded Company

The company's own website will be helpful for the company's view of itself and for some data it is required to make public. Visit the website and look for a page for "Shareholders" or "Investors."

Nexis Uni (previously Lexis-Nexis) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for 212 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 212 full text newspapers and other sources). This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Value Line
Value Line is aimed at the individual investor, but the way it presents information might make it easier to understand. A good technique is to use Value Line or Yahoo! Finance (below) and then step up to Business and Company Resource Center for a broader analysis.

Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance provides government-mandated financial information, and also has web pages that let researchers explore what the data might mean on a more personal level

Context

Use the peer-reviewed research below to put your business study in its proper environment.

Library Catalog

To get to the Library catalog, click here or go to https://mmm.summon.serialssolutions.com/#!/ or to http://www.mmm.edu > Inside MMC > Library > Advanced Search. Enter the terms that most precisely describe your search: "fast fashion industry" or Nike, with quotes if you want the computer to read the words together. Transfer your data to a Word document and save it. You'll waste more time trying to relocate a source than any other step in a term paper.

Databases A - Z

While e-books permit more rapid publication in book-length form, sometimes it's best to consult the periodical literature on the topic. For that you want a database. Which database? Start by clicking here, or by going to https://mmm-library.libguides.com/az.php, or to Marymount Manhattan College > Quick links > Library > Databases A-Z (scroll down the page to find the image-link). You can scroll the whole list or choose a subject from the box on the upper left.

You might also review the suggestion regarding E-Journals A-Z on the "Current Events Presentation" page.

Business Source Elite
Business Source Elite provides citations and full-text to news, trade publications and scholarship dealing with many aspects of the business world. It is a produce of a database company called Ebsco. You can search all of Ebsco's products simultaneously by going to "Choose Databases," choosing them all, and clicking on "OK." This might be a good idea, information from the hard sciences, social sciences, or the arts could also be useful for business.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Need Statistics?

U.S. Census Bureau Economic Indicators
The Census Bureau collects more than population statistics. This is a handy page summarizing its key economic data so you can identify trends that might help or hurt the business you're studying.

Federal Reserve Economic Data
The Saint Louis Branch of the U.S. Federal Reserve sponsors FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data, as well as ALFRED (historic data) and GEOFRED (visuals displaying economic data on maps).

SEC-EDGAR
The Securities and Exchange Commission's Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system provides access to government-required documents from publicly traded corporations.

Commerce Department
The Commerce Department supports all of US business--it has agencies concerned with individual entrepreneurs as well as corporations. Its data can enhance your analysis.

For more on SWOT Analysis, see our Lib Guide:

https://mmm-library.libguides.com/c.php?g=952001