LibGuides: Fashion Marketing Research Assistance: Home

Search Strategies

Google
Google has incorporated many AI features into its workers, so it is possible to ask it a question in human language.
more...less...
It will answer with lists of websites, but you can evaluate these for their usefulness for your purposes.
Google Images
A good source for historical and contemporary images of global fashion in many media.
Google Scholar
This shears off Google's references to newspapers and websites, leaving only references to scholarly works, many full text.
New York Public Library
Expand your access to free academic resources by going to the nearest branch of the New York Public Library at 328 East 67th Street between First & Second Avenues & getting a library card with online access.
New York Times
MMM has purchased a college-wide subscription for the New York Times. All you have to do is open an account under this subscription umbrella and you can access the times to read articles back to the beginning of the Times in 1851 or follow current fashion news.

Library Resources

Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals and over 1,700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. This is a multi-disciplinary database covering virtually every area of academia. Additionally, it can be used for general research.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
ARTSTOR is an image databse that contains over 2 million images and is constantly growing. Why choose ARTSTOR over Google Images? High-resolution reproductions and the ability to maintain image datail when using the zoom feature. ARTSTOR can be searched by collections, museums, galleries, material type, geography and historical dates to name a few of these features.
Ad*Access (1911-1955) This link opens in a new window
Advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-Text of The Wall Street Journal, from Jan 2, 1984, to present

Quick Search
This searches across all of MMC's catalogues and databases simultaneously, speeding up your search and giving you access to books, articles, newspaper sources, and documentaries.

CITATION HELP

EasyBib This link opens in a new window
Software for constructing citations for bibliographies and "Works Cited" pages in the formats most commonly used at the college level.
Noodle Tools (express) This link opens in a new window
Powerful note-taking software that promotes critical thinking and creativity combined with the most comprehensive and accurate bibliography composer on the Web. MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles.
Noodle Tools (FULL) This link opens in a new window
Powerful note-taking software that promotes critical thinking and creativity combined with the most comprehensive and accurate bibliography composer on the Web. MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian styles.
TypeCite
Open source citation tool that specializes in the MLA, APA, and Harvard systems, it analyzes citations to make sure that they are accurate and complete.

HELP FROM THE LIBRARY

Lib Chat
IM reference librarians Monday-Friday 9am-5[=;
Ask A Librarian
Email MMC's references librarians simultaneously; whoever sees first will answer. A good way to get advise on designing a search or determining the usefulness of sources.

Email the librarian!

Jason Herman is at

jherman@mmm.edu