Academic OneFile is a leader in aggregating media data, so this is the place to search for literature, film, social media or video games set in New York City. It defaults to a subject search, but users can switch to a keyword search, and search across the databases provided by the parent company, Gale.
Academic Search Premier is a good database for social science topics. Users can search across databases provided by the parent company, Ebscohost, and can narrow searches easily using the filters on the left column.
New York is central to the art world: where artists get their education, find their inspiration, conduct business, and present their work to a large and discerning audience.
Appropriately, Columbia University sponsors this website, which connects to New York City through the poets who lived, studied, worked, published, or derived their inspiration in the city.
New York City was the birthplace of the motion picture industry. Its entertainment industry fed the one that developed in Hollywood. It remains a popular location for filming movies, a setting even for movies filmed elsewhere, a cultivator of talent, and a center for business.
JSTOR is popular for all kinds of research because it provides full-text access to scholarship, including many different disciplines that include the study of New York.
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to English-language press from around the world, including dailies in the New York City area and commentary on New York from more distant newspaper.
Social Science Full Text contains articles from the disciplines of geography, history, political science, and sociology, including articles that drew data for research from New York City.
